Committee details


Purpose of committee

The Cabinet comprises of the Leader of the Council and six Cabinet Members of the Council. Each has responsibility for a defined service area (portfolio). Within the budget and policy framework set by the full Council, the Cabinet is responsible for carrying out almost all of the Council's functions in delivering services to the community. Full details of the Cabinet functions are set out in Part 2B, 4D and 4E of the Council Constitution on the Council website.


Councillor Margaret Smith - Leader of the Council


·         Corporate Policy, Strategy and Performance

·         Strategic Partnerships

·         Strategic Personnel and Organisational Development (including Member Induction and Development)

·         Equality, Diversity and Community Cohesion, Monitoring and Performance

·         National, Regional and Sub-Regional Borough Promotion

·         Effective Communications and Public Relations

·         Corporate Governance, Mayoralty and Democratic Arrangements

·         City Deal


Councillor Caroline Moon – Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member (Neighbourhoods and Streetscene)


·         Waste Collection/Recycling Promotion and Development

·         Management and Development of Parks and Open Spaces

·         Clean Environment

·         Car Parking

·         Community Safety Partnership

·         Police and Crime Panel


Councillor Colin Clark – Cabinet Member (Corporate Support and Assets)


·         Gateway and Customer Services

·         Business Transformation

·         Shared Services

·         Risk Management, Control and Assurance

·         I.T and Communications

·         Asset Management and Property Services

·         Emergency Planning and Business


Councillor Cliff Hughes – Cabinet Member (Strategic Planning and Housing)


·         Planning Policies and Strategies

·         Development Framework Proposals and Plans

·         Transportation

·         Strategic Housing

·         Homelessness


Councillor Phil Smith – Cabinet Member (Regeneration and Leisure)


·         Community Engagement

·         Economic Regeneration, Planning and Implementation

·         Business Support

·         Leisure and Cultural Services


Councillor Susan Snape – Cabinet Member (Finance)


·         Strategic Financial Planning and Development

·         Strategic Procurement

·         Revenue and Budget Monitoring and Review

·         Revenue and Benefits


Councillor Karen Walton – Cabinet Member (Public Health and Safety, Wellbeing and Environmental)


·         Public Health

·         Children and Young People’s Partnership

·         Health and Wellbeing Partnership

·         Licensing

·         Environmental Health

·         Lancashire Teaching Hospital Trust



The Leader chairs the Cabinet and has overall political responsibility for achieving the Council’s objectives. She represents the Council in the community and on important public bodies e.g. Local Government Association and acts as the Council’s primary spokesperson. Cabinet Members meet on an individual basis with the appropriate chief officers to consider reports on service-related issues and to take decisions.


Contact information

Support officer: Dianne Scambler. Email:

Postal address:
Civic Centre
West Paddock
PR25 1DH

Phone: 01772 625309


Web site: