Browse meetings

This page lists the meetings for Cabinet.


Information about Cabinet

The Cabinet comprises of the Leader of the Council and six Cabinet Members of the Council. Each has responsibility for a defined service area (portfolio). Within the budget and policy framework set by the full Council, the Cabinet is responsible for carrying out almost all of the Council's functions in delivering services to the community. Full details of the Cabinet functions are set out in Part 2B, 4D and 4E of the Council Constitution on the Council website.


Councillor Paul Foster - Leader of the Council


·         Communications and Public Relations

·         Corporate Policy, Strategy and Performance

·         Corporate Governance, Mayoralty and Democratic Arrangements

·         Strategic Human Resources and Organisational Development

·         Member Development

·         Shared Services

·         Community Safety

·         National, Regional and Sub Regional Borough Promotion


Councillor Mick Titherington – Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member (Health, Wellbeing and Leisure)


·           Sport and Leisure

·           Cultural Services

·           Public Health

·           Tackling Health Inequalities

·           Health and Wellbeing Partnership (including liaison with Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust)

·           Homelessness, Housing Standards and Disabled Facilities Grants


Councillor Matthew Tomlinson – Cabinet Member (Finance, Property and Assets)


·           Strategic Financial Planning and Development

·           Revenue and Budget Monitoring and Review

·           Risk Management, Control and Assurance

·           ICT

·           Property Asset Management

·           Strategic Procurement



Councillor Susan Jones – Cabinet Member (Environment)


·           Waste Collection, Promotion and Development

·           Street Cleansing and litter control

·           Parks, Open Spaces and Grounds Maintenance

·           Environmental Health

·           Air Quality

·           Car Parking

·           Licensing



Councillor Bill Evans – Cabinet Member (Planning, Regeneration and City Deal)


·           Strategic Housing and Planning

·           Economic Regeneration, Planning and Implementation

·           City Deal

·           Planning Policies and Strategies

·           Transportation



Councillor Aniela Bylinski Gelder – Cabinet Member (Community Engagement, Social Justice and Wealth Building


·           Gateway and Customer Services

·           Revenue and Benefits

·           Community Engagement and Involvement

·           Equality, Diversity and Community Cohesion, Monitoring and Performance

·           Voluntary, Community and Faith Sector Engagement

·           Children and Young People’s Partnership


The Leader chairs the Cabinet and has overall political responsibility for achieving the Council’s objectives. He represents the Council in the community and on important public bodies e.g. Local Government Association and acts as the Council’s primary spokesperson. Cabinet Members meet on an individual basis with the appropriate chief officers to consider reports on service-related issues and to take decisions.