

Minutes of Council

Meeting date Wednesday, 6 December 2023

Committee members

present:

Councillors Chris Lomax (Mayor), Peter Mullineaux (Deputy Mayor), Will Adams, Jacky Alty, Damian Bretherton,

Aniela Bylinski Gelder, Matt Campbell, Colin Coulton, Matthew Farnworth, James Flannery, Mathew Forshaw,

Paul Foster, Peter Gabbott, Jasmine Gleave,

James Gleeson, Mary Green, Michael Green, Jo Hindle-

Taylor, Lou Jackson, Keith Martin, Nicky Peet, Pete Pillinger, Lesley Pritchard, George Rear, Wesley Roberts, Colin Sharples, David Shaw, Margaret Smith, Phil Smith, Emma Stevens,

Caleb Tomlinson, Matthew Tomlinson, Karen Walton, Ian Watkinson, Connor Watson, Kath Unsworth, Paul Wharton-Hardman and Haydn Williams

Committee members attended virtually (non-voting):

Councillors

Officers present: Chris Sinnott (Chief Executive), Coral Astbury (Democratic

and Member Services Officer), Chris Moister (Director of Governance) and Jennifer Mullin (Director of Communities)

Other attendees: Councillors and (attended virtually)

Public: 0

A video recording of the public session of this meeting is available to view on <u>You</u> <u>Tube here</u>

65 Apologies for absence

Apologies were received from Councillors Deborah Ashton, Jane Bell, Hilary Bedford, Julie Buttery, Jasmine Gleave, Harry Hancock, David Howarth, Will King, John Rainsbury, Elaine Stringfellow and Paul Wharton-Hardman.

66 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

67 Conferment of Honorary Freeman

Members of the Council heard the nomination for Honorary Freeman of the Borough on former councillor Cliff Hughes MBE.

It was proposed by Councillor Paul Foster and seconded by Councillor Karen Walton and subsequently,

Resolved: (Unanimous)

Former Councillor Cliff Hughes MBE is appointed as Honorary Freeman of the Borough.

68 Conferment of Honorary Alderman

Members of the Council heard the nominations for Honorary Aldermen of the Borough.

Former Councillor Derek Forrest was proposed by Councillor Paul Foster and seconded by Councillor Jacky Alty.

Former Councillor Jon Hesketh was proposed by Councillor Paul Foster and seconded by Councillor Margaret Smith.

Former Councillor David Suthers was proposed by Councillor Paul Foster and seconded by Councillor Matthew Tomlinson, on behalf of Councillor Jane Bell.

Former Councillor Mick Titherington was proposed by Councillor Paul Foster and seconded by Councillor Matthew Tomlinson.

A block vote was taken and it was subsequently,

Resolved: (Unanimously)

That Former Councillors Derek Forrest, Jon Hesketh, David Suthers and Mick Titherington are appointed as Honorary Aldermen.

Chair	Date