REPORT TO	ON
Council	24 May 2017



TITLE	AUTHOR	Agenda item No.
Appointment of Committees 2017/18	Andy Houlker	8

1. PURPOSE OF THE REPORT

The report deals with the appointment of the council's committees for the municipal year 2017/18.

2. RECOMMENDATIONS

That the committees be appointed in accordance with Appendix A (to follow).

3. CORPORATE PRIORITIES

The report relates to the following corporate priorities

Clean, green and safe	Х	Strong and healthy communities	Х
Strong South Ribble in the heart of	Х	Efficient, effective and exceptional council	х
prosperous Lancashire			

4. BACKGROUND TO THE REPORT

Appendix A (to follow) shows nominations received from the political groups in respect of the membership of Committees for 2017/18.

5. PROPOSAL

To appoint the council's committees for the municipal year 2017/18.

6. WIDER IMPLICATIONS AND BACKGROUND DOCUMENTATION

6.1 Comments of the Statutory Finance Officer

There are no direct financial implications for the Council's Budget as a result of accepting the recommendations contained within this report.

6.2 Comments of the Monitoring Officer

The report is designed to comply with legislative requirements.

Failure to have in place a robust and effective decision making structure could leave the council's decisions open to challenge. This risk is addressed by the proposals within the report.
There are no equality implications arising from this report.
There are no HR implications arising from this report.

7. There are no background papers to this report

SOUTH RIBBLE BOROUGH COUNCIL

MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES

1. SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (12)

(a) Conservative (7)

Councillors Bird, Chisholm, Coulton, Michael Green, Mrs K Walton, Wharton and Mrs Woollard

(b) Labour (5)

Councillors Mrs S Jones, Martin, Titherington, M Tomlinson and Watkinson

Chairman: Councillor M Tomlinson Vice-chairman: Councillor Coulton

2. PLANNING COMMITTEE (15)

(a) Conservative (9)

Councillors Mrs Blow, Mrs Mary Green, Hesketh, Marsh, M Nathan, Nelson, Mrs Noblet, Woollard and Yates

(b) Labour (5)

Councillors Donoghue, Evans, Forrest, K Jones and C Tomlinson

(c) Liberal Democrat (1)

Councillor Howarth

Chairman: Councillor Hesketh

Vice-chairman: Councillor Mrs Noblet

3. LICENSING ACT COMMITTEE (11)

(a) Conservative (6)

Councillors Mrs Mary Green, Marsh, Mrs B Nathan, Nelson, Rainsbury and Wharton

(b) Labour (4)

Councillors Ms Bell, K Jones, Watts and Wooldridge

(c) Liberal Democrat (1)

Councillor Hancock

Chairman: Councillor Rainsbury Vice-chairman: Councillor Nelson

4. GENERAL LICENSING COMMITTEE (11)

(a) Conservative (6)

Councillors Mrs Mary Green, Marsh, Mrs B Nathan, Nelson, Rainsbury and Wharton

(b) Labour (4)

Councillors Ms Bell, K Jones, Watts and Wooldridge

(c) Liberal Democrat (1)

Councillor Hancock

Chairman: Councillor Rainsbury Vice-chairman: Councillor Nelson

5. GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE (6)

(a) Conservative (4)

Councillors Bird, Ogilvie, Mrs M Smith and Mrs K Walton

(b) Labour (2)

Councillor Foster and Patten

Chairman: Councillor Ogilvie Vice-chairman: Councillor Patten

6. APPEALS COMMITTEE (6)

(a) Conservative (4)

Councillors Mrs Blow, Coulton, M Nathan and Suthers

(b) Labour (2)

Councillors Titherington and Watkinson

Chairman: appointed at each meeting

7. STANDARDS COMMITTEE (7)

(a) Conservative (4)

Councillors Bird, Chisholm, Coulton and Mrs Woollard

(b) Labour (3)

Councillors Evans, Higgins and Mrs S Jones

Chairman: Councillor Bird

Vice-chairman: Councillor Mrs Woollard

8. SHARED SERVICES JOINT COMMITTEE (5)

(a) Conservative (3)

Councillors Clark, Mullineaux and Mrs M Smith

(b) Labour (2)

Councillors Foster and M Tomlinson

Chairman: Appointed at first meeting, rotates between Chorley and South Ribble councils. South Ribble 2017/18

Vice-chairman: Appointed at first meeting, rotates between Chorley and South Ribble councils. Chorley 2017/18

9. APPOINTMENT AND EMPLOYMENT PANEL FOR STATUTORY OFFICERS (6)

(a) Conservative (3)

Councillors Clark, Mullineaux and Mrs Snape

(b) Labour (2)

Councillors Foster and Titherington

(c) Liberal Democrat (1)

Councillor Howarth

Chairman: Councillor Mullineaux Vice-chairman: Councillor Foster