SOUTH RIBBLE BOROUGH COUNCIL

Council

Meeting held at 6.00pm on Wednesday, 17 May 2017 in (Mayoral Installation) Shield Room, Civic Centre, West Paddock, Leyland, PR25 1DH

Present:

The retiring Mayor, Councillor Mrs Linda Woollard, in the chair

Cllr Ms J Bell, Cllr D Bird, Cllr C J Clark, Cllr C Coulton, Cllr W Evans, Cllr D B Forrest, Cllr P A Foster, Cllr Mrs M Green, Cllr M A Green, Cllr H G Hancock, Cllr J M Higgins, Cllr D Howarth, Cllr J C Hughes, Cllr Mrs S Jones, Cllr J D Marsh, Cllr K J Martin, Cllr Mrs J A Mort, Cllr P Mullineaux, Cllr Mrs B A B Nathan, Cllr M Nathan, Cllr Mrs R J Noblet, Cllr A F Ogilvie, Cllr J Patten, Cllr J Rainsbury, Cllr Mrs M R Smith, Cllr P J Smith, Cllr Mrs S C Snape, Cllr D H Suthers, Cllr M J Titherington, Cllr M V Tomlinson, Cllr J G Walton, Cllr Mrs K Walton, Cllr I D Watkinson, Cllr P J H Wharton, Cllr J L Woodcock, Cllr D Wooldridge, Cllr Mrs L R Woollard, Cllr B Yates

In Attendance:

The Interim Chief Executive (Jean Hunter)

Also in Attendance:

Senior Administrative Officer (Tracy O'Reilly), Democratic Services Officer (Dave Lee) and Mayor's Attendant (Bernie Gwin)

Honorary Freemen Breakell

Public Attendance: 53

Other Officers: 6

Minute No.	Description/Resolution
1	Apologies for Absence
	Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Councillors Bennett, Donoghue, Ms Hamilton, K Jones, Mrs Moon, Nelson, C Tomlinson and Watts.
2	Declarations of Interest
	There were no declarations of interest.
3	Nomination and Election of the Mayor for 2017/18, Councillor Mick Titherington
	It was PROPOSED by Councillor Matthew Tomlinson and SECONDED by Councillor Paul Foster that Councillor Mick Titherington be elected Mayor of South Ribble for the municipal year 2017/18.
	RESOLVED: That Councillor Mick Titherington be elected Mayor of South Ribble for the municipal

	year 2017/18.
	Councillor Mick Titherington and Mrs Carole Titherington were presented with their chains of office by the retiring Mayor, Councillor Linda Woollard.
	Councillor Mick Titherington signed his declaration of acceptance of office and took the chair.
4	Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Mayor, Councillor Linda Woollard
	It was PROPOSED by Councillor Rebecca Noblet and SECONDED by Councillor Cliff Hughes that a vote of thanks be placed on record to Councillor Linda Woollard for her services during her mayoral year.
	RESOLVED: That a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor, Councillor Linda Woollard, be placed on record in recognition of the Council's appreciation for her services during her year of office.
	Councillor Linda Woollard responded to the vote of thanks.
5	Presentation of Commemorative Badges and Album to the Retiring Mayor and Consort
	The Mayor presented commemorative badges and album to Councillor Linda Woollard and Alistair Woollard to commemorate their year of office.
6	Nomination and Election of the Deputy Mayor for 2017/18, Councillor John Rainsbury
	It was PROPOSED by Councillor Graham Walton and SECONDED by Councillor Barrie Yates that Councillor John Rainsbury be elected Deputy Mayor of South Ribble for the municipal year 2017/18.
	RESOLVED: That Councillor John Rainsbury be elected Deputy Mayor of South Ribble for the municipal year 2017/18.
	Councillor John Rainsbury and Shirley Rainsbury were presented with their chains of office by the Mayor.

The meeting finished at 7.00pm

..... Chairman