REPORT TO	DATE OF MEETING
Council	18 May 2016



SUBJECT	Responsibility	AUTHOR	ITEM
Appointment of Committees 2016/17	Leader	Martin O'Loughlin	9

SUMMARY AND LINK TO CORPORATE PRIORITIES

The report deals with the appointment of the Council's Committees.

The provision of an effective democratic structure and process underpins the delivery of all the council's corporate objectives.

RECOMMENDATIONS

That the Committees be appointed in accordance with the attached schedule (Appendix A).

DETAILS AND REASONING

The schedule attached shows nominations received from the political groups in respect of the membership of Committees (Appendix A).

WIDER IMPLICATIONS

In the preparation of this report, consideration has been given to the impact of its proposals in all the areas listed below, and the table shows any implications in respect of each of these.

FINANCIAL	There are no financial implications arising from the appointments.				
LEGAL	The appointments to Committees are made in accordance with relevant legislation and, in particular, with regard to the proportionality requirements of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 where these apply.				
RISK	Failure to have in place a robust and effective decision making structure could leave the council's decisions open to challenge. This risk is addressed by the proposals within the report.				
THE IMPACT ON EQUALITY	The appointment of Committees is in accordance with proportionality.				
Asset Management	Corporate Plans and Policies	Efficiency Savings	Equality, Diversity and Community Cohesion		
Freedom of Information/ Data Protection	Health and Safety	Human Rights Act 1998	Implementing Electronic Government		
Respect Agenda	Staffing	Sustainability	Training and Development		

BACKGROUND DOCUMENTS

None

SOUTH RIBBLE BOROUGH COUNCIL

MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES 2016/17 NOMINATIONS

1. SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (12)

(a) Conservative (7)

Councillors Mrs. Ball, Mrs Blow, Coulton, Mrs M Green, Mrs B Nathan, Mrs K Walton, and Mrs Woollard

(b) Labour (5)

Councillors Mrs S Jones, Martin, Titherington, M Tomlinson, Watkinson

Chairman: Councillor Titherington Vice-chairman: Councillor Mrs Ball

2. PLANNING COMMITTEE (15)

(a) Conservative (9)

Councillors Bird, Mrs Mary Green, Hesketh, Marsh, Mrs Mort, M Nathan, Mrs Noblet, Walton and Yates

(b) Labour (6)

Councillors Evans, Forrest, Ms Hamilton, K Jones, Ms L Mawson and Donoghue

Chairman: Councillor Hesketh Vice-chairman: Councillor Mrs Noblet

3. LICENSING ACT COMMITTEE (11)

(a) Conservative (6)

Councillors Mrs Blow, Marsh, Nelson, Rainsbury, Suthers and Wharton

(b) Labour (4)

Councillors Ms Bell, C Tomlinson, Watts, Wooldridge

(c) Liberal Democrat (1)

Councillor Hancock

Chairman: Councillor Rainsbury Vice-chairman: Councillor Suthers

4. GENERAL LICENSING COMMITTEE (11)

(a) Conservative (6)

Councillors Mrs Blow, Marsh, Nelson, Rainsbury, Suthers and Wharton

(b) Labour (4)

Councillors Ms Bell, C Tomlinson, Watts, Wooldridge

(c) Liberal Democrat (1)

Councillor Hancock

Chairman: Councillor Rainsbury Vice-chairman: Councillor Suthers

5. GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE (6)

(a) Conservative (4)

Councillors Mrs Moon, Ogilvie, Mrs Snape and Mrs K Walton

(b) Labour (2)

Councillor Patten and Foster

Chairman: Councillor Ogilvie Vice-chairman: Councillor Patten

6. APPEALS COMMITTEE (6)

(a) Conservative (4)

Councillors Bennett, Coulton, Mrs. Mort and Mrs B Nathan

(b) Labour (2)

Councillors Titherington and Watkinson

7. STANDARDS COMMITTEE (7)

(a) Conservative (4)

Councillors Michael Green, M Nathan, Mrs. Mort and Ogilvie

(b) Labour (3)

Councillors Mrs S Jones, Higgins and Evans

Chairman: Councillor Mrs. Mort

8. BOUNDARY COMMITTEE (11)

(a) Conservative (6)

Councillors Bird, Michael Green, Hughes, Mullineaux, Mrs M Smith and P Smith

(b) Labour (4)

Councillors Foster, Martin, Watts & M Tomlinson

(c) Liberal Democrat (1)

Councillor Howarth

Chairman: Councillor Mrs M Smith