SOUTH RIBBLE BOROUGH COUNCIL

Council

Meeting (Mayoral Installation) held at 6.00pm on Wednesday, 11 May 2016 in Shield Room, Civic Centre, West Paddock, Leyland, PR25 1DH

Present:

The retiring Mayor, Councillor Mrs Mary Green, in the chair

Councillors Mrs A A Ball, Ms J Bell, W L Bennett, D Bird, Mrs R N Blow, C J Clark, M D Donoghue, W Evans, D B Forrest, P A Foster, M A Green, Miss C D Hamilton, H G Hancock, J Hesketh, J C Hughes, K E L Jones, Mrs S Jones, K J Martin, Ms E J Mawson, Mrs C J Moon, Mrs J A Mort, P Mullineaux, Mrs B A B Nathan, M Nathan, M R Nelson, Mrs R J Noblet, J Patten, Mrs M R Smith, P J Smith, Mrs S C Snape, D H Suthers, M J Titherington, C W Tomlinson, M V Tomlinson, J G Walton, Mrs K Walton, I D Watkinson, D J Watts, P J H Wharton, D Wooldridge, Mrs L R Woollard and B Yates

In Attendance:

The Chief Executive (Mike Nuttall)

Also In Attendance:

The Democratic Services Manager (Martin O'Loughlin), Senior Administrative Officer (Tracy O'Reilly), Democratic Services Officer (James Wallwork) and Mayors Attendant (Bernie Gwin)

Honorary Freemen Breakell and Kelly

Public Attendance: 36 members of the public were present

Other Officers: 6 other officers were also present

Minute No.	Description/Resolution
1	Apologies for Absence
	Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Councillors C Coulton, J M Higgins, D Howarth, J D Marsh, A F Ogilvie and J L Woodcock.
2	Declarations of Interest
	There were no declarations of interest.
3	Nomination and Election of the Mayor for 2016/17, Councillor Linda Woollard
	It was PROPOSED by Councillor Rebecca Noblet and SECONDED by Councillor Cliff Hughes that Councillor Linda Woollard be elected Mayor of South Ribble for the municipal year 2016/17.
	UNANIMOUSLY RESOLVED: That Councillor Linda Woollard be elected Mayor of South Ribble for the municipal year 2016/17.

	Councillor Linda Woollard and Mr Alistair Woollard were presented with their chains of		
	office by the retiring Mayor, Councillor Mary Green.		
	Councillor Linda Woollard signed her declaration of acceptance of office and took the chair.		
	The Mayor appointed Reverend Nick Mansfield as her chaplain for her year of office and then addressed the Council.		
4	Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Mayor, Councillor Mary Green		
	It was PROPOSED by Councillor Caroline Moon and SECONDED by Councillor Barrie Yates that a vote of thanks be placed on record to Councillor Mary Green for her services during her mayoral year.		
	UNANIMOUSLY RESOLVED: That a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor, Councillor Mary Green, be placed on record in recognition of the Council's appreciation for her services during her year of office.		
	Councillor Mary Green responded to the vote of thanks.		
5	Presentation of Commemorative Badges and Album to the Retiring Mayor and Consort		
	The Mayor presented commemorative badges and album to Councillors Mary Green and Anthony Green to commemorate their year of office.		
6	Nomination and Election of the Deputy Mayor for 2016/17, Councillor Michael Titherington		
	It was PROPOSED by Councillor Matthew Tomlinson and SECONDED by Councillor Paul Foster that Councillor Michael Titherington be elected Deputy Mayor of South Ribble for the municipal year 2016/17.		
	UNANIMOUSLY RESOLVED: That Councillor Michael Titherington be elected Deputy Mayor of South Ribble for the municipal year 2016/17.		
	Councillor Michael Titherington and Carole Titherington were presented with their chains of office by the Mayor.		
	The Deputy Mayor addressed the Council.		

	Chairmar