REPORT TO	DATE OF MEETING
Council	22 May 2013
	Report template revised February 2007



SUBJECT	Responsibility	AUTHOR	ITEM
Appointment of Committees 2013/14	Leader	Martin O'Loughlin	8

SUMMARY AND LINK TO CORPORATE PRIORITIES

The report deals with the appointment of the Council's Committees.

The provision of an effective democratic structure and process underpins the delivery of all the council's corporate objectives.

RECOMMENDATIONS

That the Committees be appointed in accordance with the attached schedule (Appendix A).

DETAILS AND REASONING

The schedule attached shows nominations received from the political groups in respect of the membership of Committees (Appendix A).

WIDER IMPLICATIONS

In the preparation of this report, consideration has been given to the impact of its proposals in all the areas listed below, and the table shows any implications in respect of each of these.

FINANCIAL	There are no financial implications arising from the appointments.				
LEGAL	The appointments to Committees are made in accordance with relevant legislation and, in particular, with regard to the proportionality requirements of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 where these apply.				
RISK	Failure to have in place a robust and effective decision making structure could leave the council's decisions open to challenge. This risk is addressed by the proposals within the report.				
THE IMPACT ON EQUALITY	The appointment of Committees is in accordance with proportionality.				
Asset Management	Corporate Plans and Policies	Efficiency Savings	Equality, Diversity and Community Cohesion		
Freedom of Information/ Data Protection	Health and Safety	Human Rights Act 1998	Implementing Electronic Government		
Respect Agenda	Staffing	Sustainability	Training and		

BACKGROUND DOCUMENTS

None

SOUTH RIBBLE BOROUGH COUNCIL

MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES 2013/14 NOMINATIONS

1. SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (12)

(a) Conservative (7)

Councillors Coulton, M Gardner, Michael Green, Ogilvie, Otter, Miss Walker and Mrs Woollard

(b) Labour (5)

Councillors K Jones, Mrs S Jones, Martin, Prynn and Titherington

Chairman: Councillor Titherington Vice-chairman: Councillor M Gardner

2. PLANNING COMMITTEE (15)

(a) Conservative (9)

Councillors Mrs D Gardner, Mrs Mary Green, Hesketh, Marsh, Mrs Moon, Mrs Mort, Mrs Noblet, Stettner, and Walton

(b) Labour (6)

Councillors S Bennett, Bradley, Crook, Evans, Forrest and Heyworth.

Chairman: Councillor Hesketh Vice-chairman: Councillor Moon

3. LICENSING ACT COMMITTEE (11)

(a) Conservative (6)

Councillors Mrs Ball, Mrs Beattie, Mrs Hothersall, Rainsbury, Suthers and Yates

(b) Labour (4)

Councillors Bell, Kelly, C Tomlinson and Watts.

(c) Liberal Democrat (1)

Councillor Howarth

Chairman: Councillor Rainsbury Vice-chairman: Councillor Mrs Ball

4. GENERAL LICENSING COMMITTEE (11)

(a) Conservative (6)

Councillors Mrs Ball, Mrs Beattie, Mrs Hothersall, Rainsbury, Suthers and Yates

(b) Labour (4)

Councillors Bell, Kelly, C Tomlinson and Watts.

(c) Liberal Democrat (1)

Councillor Pimblett

Chairman: Councillor Rainsbury Vice-chairman: Councillor Mrs Ball

5. GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE (6)

(a) Conservative (4)

Councillors W Bennett, Clark, Nelson and Ogilvie

(b) Labour (2)

Councillor Foster and Patten

Chairman: Councillor W Bennett Vice-chairman: Councillor Foster

6. APPEALS COMMITTEE (6)

(a) Conservative (4)

Councillors Clark, O'Hare, Stettner and Mrs Woollard

(b) Labour (2)

Councillors Higgins and Titherington

7. STANDARDS COMMITTEE (7)

(a) Conservative (4)

Councillors M Gardner, Nelson, Otter and Miss Walker

(b) Labour (3)

Councillors Mrs S Jones, Hanson and Harrison

Chairman: Councillor Nelson Vice-chairman: Councillor Otter

8. BOUNDARY COMMITTEE (11)

(a) Conservative (6)

Councillors M. Gardner, Hamman, Hughes, Mullineaux, Mrs M Smith, and P Smith

(b) Labour (4)

Councillors Harrison, Heyworth, Martin and Watts

(c) Liberal Democrat (1)

Councillor Pimblett

Chairman: Councillor Mrs M Smith